Teach Peace Foundation Award Winners


Since our inception as a non-profit we have recognized people who have made special

contributions as peacemakers. Winners routinely include individuals delivering acts of

kindness, whistle-blowers, journalists, and people working to help children.


Nominations for 2015 are being accepted. Click here for the nomination guidelines and

here to see an example of our awards. The 2015 award winners will be announced by

the first week in December.


Click here for award winners from 2012 to 2014. Below are the award winners from 2011 to 2006.






- Sister Sponsa Beltran - Lifetime Africa Peacemaker

- David Kimball - Peace Education Leadership

- Leuren Moret - Courageous Peacemaker

- Greg Bourne - Peace Leadership

- Winnie Detwiler - Peacemaker Collaboration

- Mikos Fabersunne - Middle East Peace Leadership

- Janie Knudsen - Peace Theater Leadership

- Rodney Robinson - Lifetime Peace Education



- Matt Hayes - Peace Student Excellence

- Bob and Evie Perkins - Peace Force

- Lolita Samson - Peace Leadership

- Mike Pach - Peace Leadership

- Claude Garrod - Lifetime Peacemaker

- Beti Leone - Peace Teacher


Not shown above

- Almerindo Ojeda - Peace Leadership

- Carmen Cueto - Peace Student Excellence

- Irena Sendler - Courage

- Mordechai Vanunu - Nuclear Age Peacemaker



The 2009 award winners attending this year's dinner are Fadhil Al-Kazily (Peace

Teacher), Joey Chiang (Student Excellence), Leon Lefson (Lifetime), Renee Chiang

(Student Excellence), Tim Malone (Peacemaker), Dr. Hamza El-Nakhal (Leadership),

Dr. Koen Van Rompay (International) and Mary Wind (Volunteering and picture not



Julia Cortopassi (Student Excellence), Elisa Espinoza (Student Excellence), Samatha

Warren (Student Excellence), Patricia Williams (Lifetime), Rabbi Yisroel David Weiss

(Courage), and Congressman Dennis Kucinich (Courage) are 2009 award winners

who are unable to attend.




Award winners from top left to right are Dar & Tom King (Organizing), Teresa Kroeger

(Excellence), Hank Joerger (Lifetime),  Paul and Candy Anderson (Peace Force),

Amanda Saecheo (Excellence), Peter B. Collins (Broadcasting), Janice & Harry Wang

(Leadership), and the American Friends Service Organization - Stu Pettygrove



Click here for the 2008 Evening of Peace slides and here for the 2008 student presentation.




Award winners from top left to right are Hannah & Ernie Biberstein (Peace Force),

Dr. Bill Durston (Courage), no photo - Bruce Giudici (Excellence), Jeanie Keltner

(Media), Glenda Marsh (Organizing), Nadia McCaffrey (Caring for Veterans), Michael

Moran receiving for Faith Moran (Lifetime), Ray Tatar (Theater), and no photo - Natalie

Wormeli (Leadership).




Award winners from top left to right are Judy Moores (Caring for the Environment), Guy

& Akemi Turner (Peace Force), Christine Craft (Broadcasting), Mary Anne Kirsch

(Excellence), no photo - David Krieger (Leadership), Will & Jane Lotter (Lifetime),

Jimmy Spearow (Leadership), and  Steve Reed (Organizing).


For more information, please contact us at contact@teachpeace.com.